Engineered components

Whatever the application or workload requirement, we’ve got your project covered.

Beams, headers, rim boards, columns

Laminated Veneer Lumber (LVL)

Laminated veneer lumber (LVL) is an engineered wood product comprised of multiple layers of thin wood bonded together with adhesives. The composite nature of LVL means that it is more uniform, stronger, straighter, and much less likely to warp, twist, bow, or shrink than conventional lumber.

LVL headers and beams can span greater distances and support heavier loads than conventional lumber. At Atlas, LVL is used in beams, headers, columns and rim board applications in residential floor and roof systems.

Compared with similar sized sections, our LVL headers and beams can support heavier loads and allows greater spans than conventional lumber. Work with a stronger, stiffer, more consistent and more predictable building material. 

Learn more

  WestFraser (LVL) - Brochure – CAN & US
  WestFraser (LVL) – User Guide – CAN – AUG 2012
 

Parallel Strand Lumber (PSL) Beams

Parallel strand lumber (PSL) is a high strength structural composite lumber proprietary product marketed under the trade name Parallam®. manufactured by gluing strands of wood together under pressure. The strands are then structurally bonded together in a patented microwave process to form large cross-section beams and columns.

Parallam® PSL beams are beautiful and strong, adding integrity to structures as a result of their superior strength. The longer, clear spans made available using this product provide a range of design options for open, spacious floor plans. The beams can be stained or finished to add architectural interest in exposed applications.

Parallam®  beams are designed to support heavier loads than comparably sized conventional glulam or sawn lumber products, and their uniform stress throughout each section makes them the ideal choice for cantilever and multi-span applications

Parallam® PSL beams are covered by Product Warranty against manufacturing defects for the life of the structure.

Learn more

  Parallam (PSL) Beams, headers and columns
  Parallam (PSL) Specifiers Guide
  Parallam (PSL) Deep Beam - Specifiers Guide

Laminated Strand Lumber (LSL)  

Constructed from long, thin strands oriented parallel to the product’s length, Laminated Strand Lumber (LSL) can be used for headers and beams, wall studs, roof beams and rafters, truss chords, rim board, and more.

Typically made from fast-growing aspen or poplar,  LSL offers predictable strength and dimensional stability that minimizes twist and shrinkage.

 

 

Heavy timber

Heavy Timber Construction combines the beauty of exposed wood with the fire resistance of heavy timber framing. Stress-graded lumber is combined with precise structural design procedures to create structures that are beautiful and extremely fire resistant.
Constructed in accordance with strict standards and under rigorous quality control testing, the products used in our heavy timber construction are of the highest quality available in the industry.

Highly accurate structural design procedures are used to develop engineered structures that can be relied upon to safely support anticipated loads Heavy timber construction is found in many public spaces where architectural elegance is required, but is widely used in commercial, residential and industrial applications where utility and economy are important factors.

Glue Laminated Timber (Glulam)

Glued laminated timber (Glulam) is an innovative construction material engineered for a wide variety of residential and commercial construction applications.

Glulam is a structural engineered wood product comprised of timber laminations glued together to form a visually appealing and flexible material ideal for use in a variety of different structures. The increased design values and improved product performance of this material make it a natural choice for projects from residential beams and headers to large-scale public applications.

Glulam is composed of individual wood laminations selected and positioned in the timber and bonded together with durable, moisture-resistant adhesives. Glulam is available in depths from 6 to 72 inches or greater and in lengths up to 100 feet and longer.

Learn more

  NordicLam-C231Columns
  Goodfellow - GoodLam products (Commercial)

 

Steel beams

Steel is a versatile, popular material used in the construction of everything from skyscrapers to housing. Steel beams are extremely resistant to rust and corrosion, are not susceptible to rot and have a much longer life expectancy than other types of materials.

Unlike other materials that can shrink, expand, warp and twist, steel is dimensionally stable. The strength-to-weight ratio of steel is the highest of any residential building material and it can be easily formed and joined. Because steel is strong and lightweight, it is beneficial for builders to work with and can be engineered to better withstand extreme weather events and earthquakes.
 

I-joists

Prefabricated wood I-joists are manufactured by gluing solid sawn lumber or laminated veneer lumber (LVL) flanges to a plywood or oriented strandboard (OSB) panel web in order to produce dimensionally stable light-weight member with measurable, accurate engineering properties.

The light weight, uniform stiffness, and strength of these prefabricated structural products makes them ideal for longer span joist and rafter applications in both residential and commercial construction projects.

Homeowners appreciate the fact that I-Joists create a stiffer floor with less creaking than other types of flooring. Traditional framing lumber is prone to warping, shrinking, and twisting. Contractors and developers know they can rely on the structural integrity of I-Joists to prevent expensive call-backs and mistakes.

Learn more

  International Beams - I joists - Commercial Design Manual
  International Beams - I joists - Installation Guide
  International Beams - I joists - Residential Design Manual

Open joists

Open joists are engineered, open-web floor trusses that takes advantage of the structural power of the triangle and the forces of compression and tension working together to create superior strength.

They are assembled through a unique process of finger joinery and waterproof structural adhesive instead of metal plates.  At Atlas, we employ the TRIFORCE™ open joist,  an innovative product that benefits from a structural-quality OSB panel that allows the truss to be adjusted by over 24 inches at one end.

Fabricated from specially selected wood and assembled using finger-jointed technology, it is manufactured entirely by robotics to ensuring the highest degree of rigidity, structural integrity and precision combined with an incomparable appearance.

Learn more

  TRIFORCE – Features and benefits

Hangers

Used as a means to provide support and connection between timber beams, joists or trusses, Atlas supplies a range of hangers, plates and other fasteners for a variety of applications.

Typically made from light gauge galvanized sheet metal, each fastener is affixed to wooden structural products with a specific number of nails to ensure load-carrying capacity, integrity and long-term durability.

Learn more

StongTie

Get started

Pre-engineered wall systems increase framing productivity by between 40% and 50%?

Composantes ouvrées

Peu importe l’application ou l’exigence de charge de travail, nous pouvons exécuter votre projet.  

Poutres, linteaux, panneaux de bordure et colonnes 

Bois en placage stratifié (LVL)


Le bois en placage stratifié (LVL) est un produit de bois d’ingénierie constitué de multiples couches de bois mince liées ensemble à l’aide d’adhésifs. La nature composite du LVL signifie que ce produit est plus uniforme, plus solide, plus droit et beaucoup moins susceptible de gauchir, de se déformer, de plier ou de rétrécir que le bois d’œuvre conventionnel.  

Les linteaux et poutres de LVL peuvent couvrir de plus grandes distances et supporter des charges plus lourdes que le bois d’œuvre conventionnel. Chez Atlas, le LVL est utilisé dans les poutres, les linteaux, les colonnes et les panneaux de bordure dans les systèmes de plancher et de toit résidentiels.  

Par rapport aux sections de taille similaire, nos linteaux et poutres de LVL peuvent supporter des charges plus lourdes et couvrir de plus grandes distances que le bois d’œuvre conventionnel. Travaillez avec des matériaux de construction plus solides, plus raides, plus constants et plus prévisibles.

Poutres de bois de copeaux parallèles (PSL)

Le bois de copeaux parallèles (PSL) est un produit exclusif de bois d’œuvre composite structural à haute résistance commercialisé sous la marque déposée ParallamMD et fabriqué en collant des lamelles de bois ensemble sous pression. Les lamelles sont ensuite liées ensemble de façon structurale en un procédé assisté par micro-ondes breveté pour former une grande section transversale de poutres et de colonnes.  

Les poutres ParallamMD PSL sont belles et solides, ajoutant de l’intégrité aux structures en raison de leur puissance supérieure. Les pans les plus longs et transparents de ce produit fournissent une panoplie d’options de designs pour les plans d’étage ouverts et spacieux. Les poutres peuvent être teintes ou vernies pour ajouter un intérêt architectural dans les applications apparentes.

Les poutres ParallamMD sont conçues pour supporter des charges plus lourdes que les produits conventionnels en lamellé-collé ou de bois de sciage de taille comparable, et leur stress uniforme sur chaque section fait d’elles le choix idéal pour les applications en cantilever ou multi-poutres.


Les poutres ParallamMD PSL sont couvertes par la garantie de produit contre les défauts de fabrication pendant toute la vie utile de la structure. 

Apprenez-en davantage :

 Poutres, linteaux et colonnes Parallam (PSL) (en anglais seulement)
 Guide du fournisseur Parallam (PSL) (en anglais seulement)
 Poutres profondes (PSL) – Guide du fournisseur (en anglais seulement)

Bois de longs copeaux lamellés (LSL)   

Construit à partir de longues lamelles de bois minces orientées parallèlement à la longueur du produit, le bois de longs copeaux lamellés (LSL) peut être utilisé pour des linteaux et des poutres, des poteaux muraux, des poutres et chevrons de toit, des membrures de ferme, des panneaux de bordure et plus encore.    

Habituellement constitué de tremble ou de peuplier à croissance rapide, le LSL offre une solidité et une stabilité dimensionnelle fiables qui minimisent la torsion et le rétrécissement du bois. 

Bois massif

La construction avec bois massif combine la beauté du bois apparent avec la résistance au feu d’une charpente de bois massif. Le bois d’œuvre classé par contrainte mécanique est combiné avec des procédures précises de design structural pour créer des structures qui sont à la fois attrayantes et très résistantes au feu. 

Fabriqués conformément à de strictes normes et selon des tests de qualité rigoureux, les produits utilisés en construction de bois massif sont de la meilleure qualité disponible dans l’industrie. 

Des procédures de design structural très précises sont employées pour créer des structures préfabriquées qui peuvent supporter les charges prévues en toute sécurité. La construction en bois massif est employée dans de nombreux endroits publics où une élégance architecturale est requise, mais est largement utilisée dans des applications commerciales, résidentielles et industrielles pour lesquelles la fonctionnalité et l’économie sont d’importants facteurs.    


Bois lamellé collé

Le bois lamellé collé est un matériau préfabriqué de construction innovateur pour une grande diversité d’applications de construction résidentielles et commerciales.    

Le lamellé collé est un produit de bois préfabriqué structural constitué de lamelles de bois collées
ensemble pour former un matériau attrayant et flexible idéal pour de nombreuses structures différentes.

Les valeurs de design accru et le rendement de produit amélioré de ce matériau en font un choix tout naturel pour les projets, que ce soit des poutres résidentielles, des linteaux ou des applications publiques
à grande échelle.   

Le bois lamellé collé est constitué de lamelles de vois sélectionnées placées sur le bois d’œuvre et collées ensemble au moyen d’adhésifs durables et résistants à l’humidité. Il est disponible en une profondeur de 6 po (15,2 cm) à 72 po (182,8 cm) et une longueur pouvant atteindre jusqu'à 100 pi (30,4 m) et plus. 

Poutres en acier

L’acier est un matériau versatile populaire utilisé en construction de toute structure, que ce soit des gratte-ciel ou des maisons. Les poutres en acier sont extrêmement résistantes à la rouille et à la corrosion, n’ont pas tendance à pourrir et ont une durée utile de vie plus longue que d’autres types de matériaux. 

À l’opposé d’autres matériaux qui peuvent rapetisser, s’élargir, gauchir et se déformer, l’acier est stable du point de vue dimensionnel. Le rapport résistance-poids de l’acier est le plus élevé de tout matériau de construction résidentielle, et il peut être facilement formé et relié. Parce que l’acier est solide et léger, il présente des avantages pour les constructeurs et peut être préfabriqué pour endurer les intempéries extrêmes et les tremblements de terre.   

 

Poutrelles en I

Les poutrelles en I de bois préfabriquées sont produites en collant du bois d’œuvre massif ou des alèses de bois en placage stratifié (LVL) à un contreplaqué ou un panneau de lamelles orientées (OSB) pour générer un membre léger et stable du point de vue dimensionnel avec des propriétés techniques mesurables et précises.   

La légèreté, la rigidité uniforme et la force de ces produits structuraux préfabriqués en font d’eux une
option idéale pour des poutrelles de plus longue portée et des applications d’arbalétrier dans des projets
de construction résidentielle et commerciale.   

Les propriétaires aiment le fait que les poutrelles en I créent un plancher plus solide avec moins de craquements que tout autre type de plancher. Le bois de charpente traditionnel a tendance à gauchir, à rapetisser et à se déformer. Les entrepreneurs et les promoteurs savent qu’ils peuvent se fier à l’intégrité structurale des poutrelles en I pour prévenir des erreurs et des rappels coûteux.

Apprenez-en davantage :

  Poutres et poutrelles en I internationales, manuel de conception commerciale (en anglais seulement)
  Poutres et poutrelles en I internationales, guide d’installation (en anglais seulement)
  Poutres et poutrelles en I internationales, manuel de conception résidentielle (en anglais seulement)

Poutrelles ouvertes

Les poutrelles ouvertes sont des poutrelles ajourées préfabriquées avec une âme triangulée qui tirent avantagent de la robustesse structurale du triangle et des forces de compression et de tension travaillant ensemble à créer une fermeté supérieure.   

Elles sont assemblées au moyen d’un processus unique de joints digitiformes et d’un adhésif structural perméable à l’eau au lieu de plaques métalliques. Chez Atlas, nous utilisons la poutrelle ouverte  TRIFORCEMC, un produit innovateur qui présente des avantages en raison d’un panneau OSB de qualité structurale permettant d’ajuster la ferme par plus de 24 po (60,0 cm) à l’une des extrémités.   

Fabriquée avec un bois spécialement sélectionné et assemblée au moyen d’une technologie de joints digitiformes, la poutrelle ouverte est produite entièrement par la robotique pour assurer le degré le plus élevé de rigidité, d’intégrité structurale et de précision combinées avec une apparence incomparable. 

Apprenez-en davantage :

  TRIFORCE – Caractéristiques et avantages (en anglais seulement)

Étriers

Atlas fournit une myriade d’étriers, de plaques et d’autres pièces de fixation comme soutiens et liens entre les poutrelles, les solives ou les fermes en bois pour une diversité d’applications. 

Constituée habituellement d’une tôle galvanisée de faible épaisseur, chaque pièce de fixation est posée sur les produits de bois structuraux avec un nombre précis de clous pour assurer une capacité de charge, l’intégrité et la durabilité à long terme. 

 

Commençons

Les systèmes de murs préfabriqués améliorent de 40 % à 50 % la productivité du personnel travaillant aux charpentes?